Blank Canvas or Wall?

In my first blog post I said this would not just be a blog about starting my business. It would also be about those days in between in my everyday life. This will be one of those posts.

Last night, as I was helping my daughter Genevieve in her room and my husband was cooking dinner in the kitchen, my daughter Lucy was playing in the hallway between rooms. I didn’t think much of it until I heard my husband. As I went into the hallway to see what was going on I saw Lucy’s “masterpiece”. She had found a ballpoint pen and had created her own canvas. Our hallway wall. There were circles and scribbles all along the wall and up as high as she could reach. Never underestimate how high a toddler can reach (which could explain how she got the pen). I guess we needed to repaint that wall anyway. Maybe our little artist can help with the painting. I’m sure she would love to.

This artistic incident inspired me to look for some alternate options to offer little Lucy.

Here’s a great idea from Martha Stewart that’s not only for kids. Make any surface a chalkboard surface. You can even create custom colors! Keep yourself organized by creating a wall calendar at home. Or paint a wall that’s ok for your kids to draw on.

http://www.marthastewart.com/article/make-custom-color-chalkboard-paint

Check out this cute peel and stick elephant chalk board from Land of Nod. Lot’s of fun for a kids room.

http://www.landofnod.com/family.aspx?c=3144&f=6823

 

Just roll this cute chalkboard mat by Lilly.B Designs and go. A great idea for when you have restless kids at a restaurant.

http://www.artfire.com/modules.php?name=Shop&op=listing&product_id=248820&ga_query=drawing%20for%20kids

Hope you enjoyed these ideas. Have any of you had similar artistic experiences with your kids? I would love to hear your comments and stories. Thanks!

One thought on “Blank Canvas or Wall?

Leave a Reply

