Stopover #1: Genevieve

Genevieve Stopover 1

As I had mentioned in my first blog post, my path to starting my business had several stopovers on the way. I will do a series of posts over the next several months on those stopovers. This was my first:

Stopover #1: Genevieve is Born

At the time my oldest daughter, Genevieve, was born I was working as an Art Director at a Marketing Agency in Chicago. I was completely unprepared for the heartbreaking feeling I would have going back to work after my Maternity Leave. For some reason, I had always just assumed when you had your baby, you went on Maternity Leave, then went back to work. End of story. But, all I could think about was how desperate I was to find a way to stay at home with Genevieve.

This is when the idea of starting my business really came into motion. But, with working full-time, having an hour commute home each day, the general care of my baby and wanting to spend the little precious time I had each night with her, it was necessary to put the idea on the back burner. However, all the while I did start to gather ideas, research, and learn about starting my business. These were the beginning baby steps to “Always, Genevieve & Lucy”.

There are many more Stopovers to come in my upcoming posts. For now, I am curious to know, from all the parents out there, what surprising things or feelings did you encounter after the birth of your child? I would love to see your responses below. Till next time…

Leave a Reply

