A Handmade Christmas

A sampling of my handmade gifts.

Well, we are almost there…just hours away.  I’ve planned for this day since the end of October. And, as I had mentioned before, I will start even earlier next year. This year I decided to make half of my Christmas gifts by hand. Last year I knitted a couple of scarfs. This year I knitted several scarfs, a purse, felted a couple of coin purses, created 2 vintage type notebooks and lots of personalized stationery. Whew! And I still didn’t get all I wanted to create done.

I have gained a better appreciation over the last couple of years for things handmade. Now, I still do plenty of shopping at your regular big box stores. But, there is something about an item created by hand that gives it such charm and character. I think it has something to do with the fact that we drown ourselves in technology every day. You can’t get away from it. To see something that was crafted by hand shows more depth and feeling. It takes me out of that 2 dimensional cyberworld and gives me a feeling of being real. A feeling of home, family and friends, and being able to depend on yourself to create things you need. And above all there is so much satisfaction in being able to create something with your own two hands.

I quite enjoyed making my gifts this Christmas. Next year though, I’ll be starting in September (hmm….or maybe August). How about you? What are your thoughts on handmade gifts? Till then, here is wishing you a very Merry Christmas!

knitted purse and felted coin purses

personalized stationery

handmade notebooks made from old children's books

4 thoughts on “A Handmade Christmas

    • Thanks! The best thing is the gifts I made for Genevieve and Lucy were truly appreciated by them. They were excited when they opened the gifts and used them as well. That was the best Thank you ever :o)

  1. Pingback: Christmas Gifts in March? « Dreambles

  2. Pingback: Christmas Gifts in April? « Dreambles

Leave a Reply

