Is Lego® a Friend to Girls?

© Lego Friends

Olivia's Treehouse from Lego® Friends®

My daughter loves to create, build and imagine. This year she discovered Lego® when she stumbled upon an old bin of her older brother’s Legos. They have fast become her favorite toy. The things she creates from these Legos amazes me. Such imagination and creativity. So when I decided I wanted to buy her some of her very own Legos to add to her collection, I was very disheartened to find there were almost no options for girls. Sure you could find the pink tub of Legos and the simple house kit. But not much more that took into account what girls might be interested in. It certainly felt like Lego was saying, no girls allowed.

Shortly after Christmas I was shopping and looking for a present for my daughter’s friend. As I walked past the toys I couldn’t believe my eyes. A whole end cap dedicated to Legos for girls, Lego® Friends®! They were exactly what a girl who loves Legos has dreamed about. When my daughter saw these she was so excited she wanted to buy them all.

Well, much to my surprise I recently found that some people were upset about these new Lego Friends sets. How could they be upset? Finally, Lego was including the interests of girls into their products. It seems some think that Lego Friends is playing to negative stereotypes of girls. Huh? This all seems so absurd to me. They point out that the sets focus on girls going to the salon and hanging out at the café. Apparently they have not looked close enough into what these play sets are offering girls. They have an Inventor’s Workshop, a Veterinarian, a Designer, and yes, they have a Salon and a Café. I don’t know about you, but I think letting my little girl grow up thinking she can be an entrepreneur and open her own Café, is pretty cool. Maybe those who oppose Lego Friends should look at what their own stereotypes are, because I see a whole new world of learning and exploring here for my daughter.

© Lego Friends

Olivia's Inventors Workshop from Lego® Friends®

I applaud Lego for including the interests of girls in their new line of Lego Friends. I think they have done an incredible job in what they have created. My daughter absolutely loves them!

So, yes, I do think Lego is a friend to girls. How about you? I’d really like to hear others thoughts on this issue. Do you think Lego Friends are good for girls or do they reinforce negative stereotypes? Till next time…

Genevieve's Lego Friends and Star Wars sets

Here my daughter plays with both her Lego Friends set right next to her Lego Star Wars set. She has now expanded her creations by using both sets.

2 thoughts on “Is Lego® a Friend to Girls?

  1. My kids always loved legos – and I still do! I think these new products look cool. Like it or not, boys and girls like different things. I don’t want everyone to like the exact same things. Variety is good. With Legos, you can build whatever you want and pretend it is whatever you want, without sex, race, gender, or religion.

    LegoLand is in San Diego. You should come and visit!

    • I completely agree! Girls and Boys are different, doesn’t mean they are not equal. Doesn’t mean they are not capable of achieving the same things. They just tend to like different things or play differently with the same things, like with Legos. And these Legos are really cool. I think it may my daughter’s all time favorite toy at this point. She would be in heaven if we took her to LegoLand. If we are ever out that way we will visit 🙂

Leave a Reply

