Have You Found This Lost Treasure?

Sometimes there are treasures right under our noses and we don’t even see them. Or, we are so used to them being there that we forget why they are there in the first place. That is what happened to me. $4 dollars a gallon for gas and a bad economy has caused us to be more creative with our money. And that is how I unearthed this treasure for my family.

When I was young one of my favorite things to do was to go to the library. I loved searching for new books. I would then find one of the small white library chairs with orange cushions, sit down and leaf through each one. As I got older and graduated from college I all but forgot about the library in lieu of the more popular bookstores that were popping up. You could look through a book, have your coffee and listen to great music. All the while you never felt pressure to actually buy the books (even though I often did). There is no doubt I spent a lot of money at these bookstores.

Now, that I’m a Mom, I still love to go to the bookstore. But, try to tell a 7-year-old you are only there to look and you’re sure to hear some mumbling. So, why when we have a library literally right down the street did it not dawn on me to take the kids there? Working a full-time job made it difficult to have time during the week to take the kids to the library. And, weekends always seemed a time to catch up on everything. Luckily I recently decided to take a Friday off and spend the day with the kids. The thought popped into my head to take them to the library since I was trying to think of free things to do. And, what a great idea that was!

As we walked into the library I reminded the girls they had to be very quiet. Lucy wasn’t quite sure about this. But she quickly fell in love once she saw the special children’s area. They had small tables and chairs and big fun pillows on the brightly animated rugs strewn around the kids area. They had a blast looking for books and children’s DVDs. Lucy loved making friends and watching them play on the little computers. I then got my chance to look around and quickly found a huge book about knitting and several on art and design. It was like a new world had opened up to me. I didn’t realize the amount of resources the library offered. Aside from books and magazines, you can check out DVDs, CDs, Video Games, Audio Books and even download e-books and audio books to your iPad or Kindle. Wow!

Now, I realize there are many people out there that use this treasure to its fullest. But for me it truly was like finding a lost treasure. Especially during these times when money can be tight. It can feel so limiting at times when you know you want to save money. Now going to the library is like a shopping trip, play date and bookstore trip in one, but I don’t have to spend a cent! We have made trips to the library a regular part of our weekend routine now.

So tell me, when was the last time you went to the library? And if you are a regular visitor please share with us what else we can find there. I know I have just scratched the surface. Till next time…

4 thoughts on “Have You Found This Lost Treasure?

  1. Yeah! Libraries are AWESOME and provide so many services! Everyone should take advantage of the opportunity for free fun and education!

    • Can you believe it took me so long to rediscover this! We used to go all the time as kids. Remember when we would even check out those old movie projector movies? We’ve actually started having a family movie night and instead of buying on demand movies we are picking them out at the library. 🙂

  2. Great post, Lisa! I haven’t been to the library in…forever. Thanks for the reminder of an awesome neighborhood resource.

Leave a Reply

