Color Inspiration…Vintage Carnival

I’ve got another shot of color inspiration for you today. I was looking through some amazing photos. Color photos from the Great Depression and it was so moving to see these photos in color. It made that era come to life. We’re so used to seeing all the black & white photos it almost doesn’t feel real sometimes. But seeing it in color brings it into the same context as we see things everyday, in color. It made me feel even more connected to these people.

The photo I chose above really popped out at me when I saw it. The rich colors, graphic carnival banners and 1940’s gent drew me in and made me wonder what it would have been like to be there on that bright sunny day.

Does this photo draw you in as much as it does me? Would love to hear what you think. Till next time…

Photo: Barker at the grounds at the state fair. Rutland, Vermont, September 1941. Reproduction from color slide. Photo by Jack Delano. Prints and Photographs Division, Library of Congress

3 thoughts on “Color Inspiration…Vintage Carnival

  1. I think we don’t realize that although much of of our experiences have moved exponentially past B&W photos and so much of why we think this era is not a part of our story . . . This is not so far from most of our lives. We can relate so much better to a life that we can see, hear, touch. . . .

    • Beautifully said, Angela! We really aren’t so different from the people we see in these photos. I think that is one of the reasons I was so moved when I saw these photos in color. Thank you for your comment!

  2. Pingback: GAINING INSPIRATION FROM EVERYDAY THINGS « cloudy with a chance of crochet

Leave a Reply

