3 Tips For The Poor Bride

3 Tips for Poor Brides

Looking for ways to save money for your wedding day? Just need a little extra to get that Vera Wang dress or that vintage wedding ring you had your eye on. Here are 3 tips I’ve found useful for saving money that just might help you get what you want.

1. Trick Yourself. Have part of your paycheck automatically deposited into a separate savings account. Trick yourself into forgetting it is even there so you don’t spend it. When I started saving for my wedding I was short on money but big on ideas. And this was one of the ways that I was able to put money aside without being tempted to use it for other things.

2. That’s A Latte Money. Cutting out Starbuck’s (or something else) for a year might be tough but the extra money you will save for that honeymoon to Bali will be worth it.  I used to go to Starbuck’s every morning before work. That was about $4 a day, $20 a week, $1,040 a year! On coffee, who knew! By just cutting out the Starbucks you could have a nice chunk of change to go towards your honeymoon. Don’t want to cut out the coffee? Find other things that you can cut. Keep a journal for a week that tracks every single thing you buy. You might be surprised on where your money is going and find some things you can cut (at least for now). While it may not be fun, it would be worth it to have the extra money for your once in a lifetime event.

3. A Simple Switch. Can you switch one of your everyday products for a lesser expensive or store brand? This could be anything from your tin foil to your laundry detergent. Items you might not even think much about. Until I took a closer look, I didn’t realize this myself. I too was purchasing the most expensive brands without even giving it a second thought.  For example, I used to buy a contact solution that cost $9 a bottle. One day I realized that there was another store brand that was a fraction of the cost. I gave it a try and it worked fine. Why was I overpaying? Just out of habit. Are there any brands you can switch so you can use that extra money for that calligrapher you wanted to hire?

These are just a few ideas to help you save that little extra to make that extra special day a reality. These small sacrifices will be well worth it for a day you will always remember. I would love to hear if any of you have ideas on how to save extra money for your wedding. It would be great to share as many ideas as we can. Till next time…

Leave a Reply

